Classics, Literature, Philosophy, Poetry & Politics

The Raj Quartet

All CategoriesClassics, Literature, Philosophy, Poetry & Politics

Course synopsis

We shall study Paul Scott’s four novels that are known collectively as “The Raj Quartet.” They are:

  • The Jewel in the Crown (1966) 

  • The Day of the Scorpion (1968) 

  • The Towers of Silence (1971) 

  • A Division of the Spoils (1975)

All tell the story, from multiple perspectives, of Anglo-Indians, as the British Empire is at war, and the power of the Raj wanes.

There will be no class on Friday 1 October

Book your place